The Amazing One-Armed CrossFitter.

June 8, 2009

0nearm

I don’t know if it’s coincidence or divine intervention or Lauren’s intervention, but since I hurt my shoulder, there seems to be a lot of CrossFit Journal articles about shoulders and injury rehab and working out while you’re injured. Whatever the cause I am going to take the advice and pick up my training (left arm only) as if I were unhurt.

Don’t worry, I won’t do anything to involve or stress my right arm directly and I’ll wear my sling and tie my arm securely to my torso. I am sure it will accelerate the healing process, and if nothing else it will be interesting to switch dominate/weak sides.

For my inaugural one-arm workout I chose Fran – 21-15-9 repetitions of 95# thrusters and pull-ups, subbed to one-arm 45# dumbbell thrusters and one-arm ring rows.

As much as you like or dislike Fran, you will dislike One-Arm Fran even less. The thrusters were not bad other than the unbalanced thing, but the ring rows were awful. My time was 7:34 and I am sure it will be fun to wake up sore on one side only. For all my healthy friends out there, you might try One-Arm Fran on your weak side, rest three minutes and repeat on your dominate side.

The next day I did One-Arm Hansen – 5 rounds of 30 kettlebell swings, 2 pood, 30 burpees (yeah burpees), and 30 ghd sit-ups. I modified to one-arm kb swings at 20# and one-arm burpees (yeah burpees) with no push-up. The strange thing was that my one-arm Hansen time beat my two-arm Hansen time of a month ago by 3.5 minutes, which convinces me that I have not been getting enough rest or recovery, which probably contributed to my injury. Lesson learned.

It’s frustrating and depressing to deal with an injury but I know I’ll heal, no big deal. I’d like to give a big shout out to all those people who are permanently injured and still workout. Who accept their situation and find ways to get stronger and fitter. You men and women are an inspiration and I raise my uninjured left arm in salute to you.

One Response to “The Amazing One-Armed CrossFitter.”

Leave a Reply

